LAIBACH announced a brand new album release, VOLK. The album was released on Mute on 23rd October and has been preceded by a single release, ANGLIA on 9th October 2006.

VOLK is a collection of interpretations of national anthems and beside others it also includes the transnational anthem of NSK State in time. All other tracks are based on and inspired by original anthems. The opening track, Germania uses Das Lied der Deutschen, originally written in 1797 and used after World War I as the national anthem of the German Empire at the time of the Weimar Republic, while the single, Anglia, uses John Bull’s God Save the Queen/King as its inspiration. The tracks are mostly sung in English but each song has a guest singer, often singing in his national language.

Laibach created this record in collaboration with Boris Benko and Primož Hladnik – both members of Ljubljana music group Silence and they co-produced and co-write the project. Boris Benko also created vocal interpretations and arrangements on several songs.

The album is released as a standard CD with 16 page booklet with lyrics and illustrations and also in a
limited edition hardback book format with watercolour artwork by Laibach in a 32 page booklet with sleeve notes explaining each track.